Trillman’s Story (preview)

Trillman

Today I wanted to do something special and try to post something V-day related due to it being February, so what you are going to get to read today is the first part of an all new short story featuring Trillman from my book series, Mortal Realm Witch.  I hope you enjoy the following story. You do not need to have read the first book in the Mortal Realm Witch series to read this story. The following is the first part of a story that tells how Trillman became a familiar. The full story is currently available to read as a PDF on http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/. The full story will only be available to read until after the release of the third book in the Mortal Realm Witch series, Mortal Realm Witch: Realms Unite? When this happens, what you see in this post will be what is available to read on the website.  Now please continue reading and enjoy the story.

You might know me as DWW’s familiar and you might not. It doesn’t matter either way because I am about to share with you the story of how I became a familiar.

It all started back when I was a young warlock living on campus and going to a college in the Mortal Realm. I was at college learning how to be a teacher, or trying to anyway. My grades appeared to be saying otherwise. See, I might have been at college because I wanted to be a teacher but I was failing the coursework.

I don’t know why I was failing. I never missed a class, always showed up on time, paid attention, took notes, and did my homework. I even got good grades on my homework, it was only the tests that I ever failed. I never seemed to be able to remember the information.

Anyway, in my class there was a girl, Iris. I know what you are thinking, and no, Iris had nothing to do with my failing the class. I was failing long before I ever knew who she was or that she was even in my class.

One day my professor asked to see me after class. Iris was there when he informed me just how badly I was doing in his class. Iris heard the whole thing and as I began leaving the classroom she said, “Trillman, wait for a moment!”

I wondered why but I did as she requested and waited. At this time I didn’t even know her name so it seemed odd that she wanted me to wait for her. If you are wondering how it is possible for me to pay attention in class but not know who is in it or what their names are I’ll tell you. The reason is that, although I hear people’s names it takes a long time before I actually remember them.

When Iris was standing next to me she asked, “Do you want to pass the class?”

“Would I still be in it if I didn’t?” I asked somewhat sarcastically.

“Probably not,” Iris said, “But you seem too smart to be failing it.”

“Well, obviously I’m not or I would be passing,” I said. I was beginning to feel like this conversation was going nowhere.

Iris laughed and said, “I just meant I could probably help you.”

“You could?” I asked, “How do you figure?”

“It’s like I said,” Iris told me, “You seem to be smart. I think all you need is a little tutoring.”

“And you want to tutor me?” I asked suspiciously.

“If you want me to,” She said.

“But why?” I asked.

She didn’t answer this instead she asked, “Do you want me to or not?”

“Uh…yeah…sure…let’s try it.” It would have been nice if she had cut me off somewhere. After each word I paused thinking she was going to respond. Each time she didn’t I thought I didn’t answer right. As it would turn out she had just wanted to see how long I was going to continue that really awkward sentence.

I realized this when she laughed, “All you had to say was yes.”

“So, what now?” I asked, “I mean were you planning on starting tonight?”

“If you want to,” Iris replied, “But we don’t have to if you would rather start tomorrow or something. Although judging by your grades we probably should start as soon as possible.”

“You’re right about that,” I said.

“Okay, so where would you like to do this at?” Iris asked.

“Anywhere is fine,” I replied without putting any thought into my answer.

“So, do you want to meet at my place?” She asked.

“Uh…your place?” I asked nervously. Maybe I shouldn’t have said anywhere was fine.

“Sure, I have an apartment not far from here. It will be quiet there so we should be able to get a lot done.” Iris explained, “Unless you are afraid to be alone with me.” She challenged.

“Why would I be afraid?” I asked hoping she didn’t hear the nervousness in my voice, “You are only tutoring me aren’t you?”

“Of course,” She said.

“Well, then I guess it would be okay then.” I replied, “By the way what am I supposed to call you?”

“Iris.” She replied, “And am I supposed to call you Trillman?”

“Yes?” I replied questioningly. I was wondering why she had asked me that when she knew my name already.

“Are you sure about that?” Iris asked.

“Yes, I’m sure.” I said confidently this time.

With that we then headed to Iris’s apartment. For the next few weeks this became a regular thing. After class I would go with Iris to her apartment. I learned a lot about her during this time and we became friends. At this time I knew much more about Iris than she did about me. I knew she was waiting for me to tell her. She still wanted to know where I was from and a few other things that I couldn’t answer without revealing what I was and the Other Realm to her. Whenever she asked I would find a way to change the subject until one day…

The more time I spent around Iris the more I began liking her. I began wondering if there might be a future for us together as more than friends. I began realizing that this would only be possible if I stopped hiding information from her. Besides, telling mortals our secret isn’t exactly against the rules. It is just warned against, and I wouldn’t be the first or the last to do this.

One day before she began tutoring me I said, “Iris?”

“What?” she asked curiously.

“I think it’s time for you to know who I am.” I said.

Get to know Trillman and some other characters from the Mortal Realm Witch series here: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/meettheauthor/meetthecharacters.html

And be sure to read the rest of this story, free for a limited time, at: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/extras/freepdfstories.html

Book one in the Mortal Realm Witch series, Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic is available now in print online at Amazon and Barnes and Noble. It is also available as a Kindle eBook.

You can read three excerpts from Learning About Magic here: http://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1165458-three-book-excerpts-mortal-realm-witch-learning-about-magic

And I am always available for questions about my book, website, myself, or anything else here: http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/88908-ask-jennifer-priester

To learn more about me, the Mortal Realm Witch series, other books I am working on and more visit: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/

Don’t forget to visit the website to enjoy the rest of Trillman’s story (working title), which is part one of a two-part eBook exclusive called: Trillman’s Tales. And keep reading this blog to learn more about Mortal Realm Witch, me, read other stories written by me before anyone else, as well as meet some animals and other people’s books.



About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trillman’s Story (preview)

  1. dm yates says:

    I enjoyed reading your excerpt. Interesting storyline.

  2. Karla Telega says:

    Definitely piques my curiosity. I’ll be interested to see where this goes. I’m having fun blog hopping. Hope to see you over at my place too.

Leave a Reply

