Similarities and Differences in Books Part 2: What My Series has in Common With Others Works and Where it Differs

Front cover--MRW_Learning_About_Magic_with_title

We know that many books have a lot in common with each other yet are completely different stories otherwise. As I mentioned in a previous post, authors often are influenced by others to write about a subject they read about or watch on TV and make it their own because it is a subject they really like.

In this post you will see mostly similarities as I can’t really go into many details without giving away too much from my books.

To start off with my book has a common idea of a girl discovering she is a witch. I’m sure you can think of many. Right off I think of the TV show and book series, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, and the Disney movie, Halloweentown.

This is how my post is going to work: I will tell you something about my book series, Mortal Realm Witch, then I will tell you what it is similar to and a difference or two.

To start off with DWW is a witch that you first meet in Book One, Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic. She lives in the Mortal Realm. On her 11th birthday she discovers she is a witch, receives her magical powers, is told to keep them a secret, learns about the existence of two Realms; the Mortal Realm and the Other Realm, her dog is her familiar and can talk, and she has a portal to the Other Realm which is also her bedroom closet.

The biggest similarities are between my series and Sabrina the Teenage Witch. Sabrina is a witch living in the Mortal Realm who discovers her powers and that she is a witch on her 16th birthday. She is also told to keep her powers a secret, learns about the existence of two Realms; the Mortal Realm and the Other Realm, and her cat is her familiar and can talk, and she has a portal to the Other Realm which is also her linen closet.

Did you see the differences? DWW is 11 and Sabrina is 16 when they learn about their powers. DWW receives her powers while Sabrina just discovers them. DWW’s familiar is a dog and Sabrina’s is a cat, and the type of closet differs.

Some similarities between my series and Sabrina is that both shows feature a witches council and are run by a Head of the Witches Council located in the Other Realm. On the show and in the first book in the series, Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic both Witches Councils have a guy that is the Head, mortals aren’t allowed into the Other Realm, and both familiars were once humans that broke rules and were turned into talking animals with no magical powers because of this. What rules they broke are very different.

In Sabrina the cat, Salem was turned into a familiar for trying to take over the world. In Mortal Realm Witch, I don’t say directly, only indirectly, how DWW’s dog, Trillman became a familiar. While I don’t say it in the in any of the books in the main series, you can still learn how it happened by reading the free, for a limited time, PDF story on the Mortal Realm Witch website called: Trillman’s Story here: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/extras/freepdfstories.html

I mentioned Halloweentown a little earlier, and besides the discovery of being witches, the Mortal Realm Witch series also shares the common idea that using magic is like wishing. Details of this will be in Book Five of the Mortal Realm Witch series, but examples can be found in Book Two, Mortal Realm Witch: The Magic Continues.

Another similarity in my series to others is with my wizards. Like most wizards that you know, Harry Potter, or the wizards of Disney’s Wizards of Waverly Place, mine use wands. The biggest difference with my wizards is the secret behind the wands, which you learn in Mortal Realm Witch: The Magic Continues.

For the next similarities I will be talking about some of the inspiration behind some of my events and characters.

The character of Asantra, who you meet in Book Four of the Mortal Realm Witch series, Mortal Realm Witch: The Adventures of DWW2, was inspired by the type of characters that are both good and bad at the same time and characters that start off as the villain but later become one of the heroes. Some examples of what I am talking about are Riku from, the video game series and manga books, Kingdom Hearts, Zuko from the TV show, Avatar the Last Airbender, and Kevin E. Levin from the various Ben 10 shows.

The inspiration for my wolf pups learning to hunt and fight came from books such as Erin Hunters Warriors. Previously I had not included details about this in the story the wolf pups are in titled, Wolf Magic. At the time my book had gone out to several English teachers of various grade levels to try to figure out what age level my book is for, one of them requested I add details for this. As good as the idea was, I hadn’t put this in because I didn’t know how to write it, but I began paying closer attention to how authors such as Erin Hunter wrote battles and hunting scenes and eventually began writing my own. In the end I was glad I included details on the fighting and hunting because, the hunting especially is now one of my favorite moments from the book.

I learned wolf nature from a fantasy point of view from David Clement Davies book, The Sight. The natural wolf moments were learned from wolf documentaries on Animal Planet and Victoria Stillwell on her show, It’s Me or the Dog.

One thing you will notice across many of my books is that Jack Russell Terriers appear often. The reason is really just that I like the breed, but it has this in common with books such as Animal Ark, and The Pet Finder’s Club. Both are book series written by Ben M. Baglio aka, Lucy Daniels. Animal Ark on several occasions has had a Jack Russell as the main animal in the story or as a side character. In The Pet Finders Club a Jack Russell is one of the regular characters.

To close things out I will add one final fun fact. When I decided to use a closet as the portal to the Other Realm I wasn’t thinking about Sabrina or The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, which also features a closet portal. What I was actually thinking about was that a closet was an out-of-the-way yet easily accessible area making it the perfect location for a portal.

To learn more about the Mortal Realm Witch series you can visit: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/home.html

 

About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in Books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Similarities and Differences in Books Part 2: What My Series has in Common With Others Works and Where it Differs

  1. Pingback: Author interview – Jennifer Priester June 19, 2013 | Roberta' s Dreamworld

Leave a Reply

