Review of “The Remarkables” by: A.D. Elliott

The Remarkables

To start off with, this book is very fast paced. Throughout the book are some very funny moments. The humor is incorporated throughout the book much like in Rick Riordan’s “Percy Jackson” and “Heroes of Olympus” series.
I like how most of the characters in the book have powers of some kind, although most have only one ability.
This isn’t a superhero story in the sense most people are used to. Although the heroes all have superpowers, they don’t have costumes or secret identities, and the goal is to simply save the boy, Owen’s, dad, though it does get bigger than that.
I really liked how the characters; including a cow in the book, are all very unique. Each character with powers has a different ability. Two of these characters, Mrs. Argyle, and Ken, reminded me of the benders in the “Avatar: The Last Airbender” and “Legend of Korra” TV shows, except the way their abilities work are very different.
For anyone that has read a lot of comic books, such as: “Justice League” should easily be able to recognize and understand the idea of infinite Earths, as mentioned in the book. Unfortunately, because I am very familiar with this concept, I can’t say whether the explanations are easily understandable to anyone new to the idea.
The only problems I had with this book is that there appeared to be some minor typo’s and some words are spelled differently than what I am used to seeing, so although I’m not saying they are wrong, I did find it to be a little distracting.
Because my problems were so minor I never felt like they took anything away from the overall story.
If done right, I think this book would make a really good movie. It is so easy to imagine it as one while reading.

About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

