Short Stories vs. Long

Short Stories are often quick and fun reads but they don’t always feel complete. Sometimes there are little reasons for this and other times the reasons are much larger. Sometimes characters don’t have time to fully develop and many details are left out making the reader feel a little in the dark which can either make the story good and make the reader want more, or leave them so in the dark that they have no idea what is going on.

Long stories are fun, but just as it sounds, they take longer to read. Sometimes a short story is better because it is easier to read them when you are on a busy schedule, but long stories usually have much deeper plots, developed characters, and other elements that often make the stories more interesting and engaging than a short one.

I read and write both ways, and actually my Mortal Realm Witch series is both at the same time. Most of the books in mine are short stories, but two are full length novels. In order to confront the developing character problem often found with the writing of short stories I allowed my characters to develop themselves naturally over the course of the series. Another thing in my series is that each story builds off the last for a larger story by the end of the series, this large story spans the course of more than one generation of witches. Anyone who reads my full series would also notice that some stories are more detailed and some are more action based depending on what I feel is important to know at the time. Some details also appear to be missing, but are filled in during the series.

So, which way do I prefer to read and which do I prefer to write? I actually couldn’t tell you. Whether I read a long story or a short one depends on both time and mood. I don’t actually prefer one over the other, although I do prefer to buy long stories to read later and borrow shorter ones from the library. For writing, my answer is the same. I don’t actually prefer either one. I used to write short stories purely because my attention span is often very short and as soon as I start one story I am instantly thinking of another one that I want to write. I also used to write them and keep writing until I am done, which didn’t allow my older stories to get written over long periods of time. My favorite stories that I have written are my longer ones, although many of these are still short stories, they were written only as I got, what I thought, were really good ideas and wrote them down. It may take longer to finish them doing it this way and I like the ones I write over short periods of time, especially ones such as my free story on: http://www.mortalrealmwitch.com/extras/freetoreadstories.html, but still, my favorites are usually the ones that have taken me sometimes a really long time to finally finish, so even as short stories I can still consider them to be long due to how long they take to write!

About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Short Stories vs. Long

  1. I suspect that short stories are more difficult to write successfully, there’s so much to pack in.
    An author writing a long, however, can make it either a stand-alone read, or, a series.
    I have read both types and enjoy them. 🙂
    Enjoyed the free story 🙂

Leave a Reply

