Review of “I, Jack” by: Patricia Finney

838135[1]This book didn’t really work for me. I do like that the book is told from the dog’s point of view and feels like how some dog’s probably would talk in reality if they could. What I didn’t like was the dog’s constantly happy attitude and how often he said and repeated how happy he was. Although I do know many dog’s like Jack, I couldn’t help but find him a little annoying, I would have liked him more if he was presented as a little less enthusiastic, and maybe a little smarter as well. As far as t…more This book didn’t really work for me. I do like that the book is told from the dog’s point of view and feels like how some dog’s probably would talk in reality if they could. What I didn’t like was the dog’s constantly happy attitude and how often he said and repeated how happy he was. Although I do know many dog’s like Jack, I couldn’t help but find him a little annoying, I would have liked him more if he was presented as a little less enthusiastic, and maybe a little smarter as well. As far as the story itself, I often found it hard to follow and understand. While there are many sentences numbered throughout the book corresponding to numbers at the bottom of the page where the stories cats explain what Jack is talking about, I found it too distracting to keep having to look down at this then find my place in the story again. There were also several times where I missed the number completely as the numbers are easy to miss and found myself searching through the text I just read to figure out what the bottom sentences were talking about and even with these I couldn’t always understand the book. There are also some other things I didn’t particularly enjoy about the dog’s in the book, which I did not use in deciding what rating to give the book. One of the biggest things I did not like was that both Jack and the other dog were breeder gotten dog’s and neither dog was ever spayed or neutered, leading to Jack causing unwanted puppies.
About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Books, Pets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

