Procrastination, How it Helps me Work

For those of you that know the definition of procrastination, you are probably thinking that the title I chose for this post makes no sense. After all, procrastination is usually the enemy of work. So how could procrastinating actually help me get work done?

To start off with I am a huge procrastinator. I will even procrastinate on doing fun things such as playing video games. It’s not the playing of the games I am putting off, just the getting up, turning on the game system, and inserting the disk that is the problem for me. I just don’t feel like doing the few simple things needed so I end up not playing any video games in the end.

When it comes to doing actual work, such as writing a story, which is something else I like doing, I can stare at my work material for hours doing nothing but thinking about working. Although it’s meaning is a little different, one of my favorite quotes is, “I like work: it fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours,” by Jerome K. Jerome, because it often feels true to me.

So far it doesn’t sound as if procrastination is doing any good, does it? This is where you would be wrong. When I procrastinate a time usually comes when my mind begins to wander, often leading into a daydream. Sometimes these daydreams later become stories, and others often help continue a story a am currently working on, depending on where the daydreams take me.

This is how procrastination actually can, and does, help me get work done. I was actually procrastinating on working on one of my books when I came up with the idea, and wrote out the draft of this blog post.

About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

