Character Creation: How 3 Mortal Realm Witch Characters Came to be

In character creation I rarely decide much about a character, other than age, appearance, and some base personality traits, before beginning to write about them. Sometimes they have started out very different, but my four favorite human, and characters that were human when I first wrote about them, in my Mortal Realm Witch series all started out the same way. Each of these characters, DWW,  Sampson, and Asantra all started out by having many similarities or differences to myself at the time I began creating them and over time began to develop their own personalities.

When DWW was first created I was around the same age as she was when she is given her powers. In creating her I basically imagined what it would be like if I was a witch. Like DWW, in the first three stories of Book One, Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic, I would have been looking for ways around the rules and would have just wanted to have fun using magic. DWW first began to split off from myself as she got older and by the second book, Mortal Realm Witch: The Magic Continues, the biggest changes began to become noticeable. By Book Two, DWW is no longer using her magic irresponsibly or using it only to have fun, instead the magic has become just another part of herself. DWW also becomes very focused on one specific goal that she would like to achieve and remains this way throughout the whole series. DWW also is much more patient than myself, and beginning in Book Two, although you don’t learn it directly, rather see examples over time, DWW becomes what I refer to as “the ultimate good guy”. This means that she doesn’t support violence of any kind with the exception of hunting for food, she doesn’t approve of using animals for anything without the permission of the animal, and other things as well. What does happen to remain the same between us however, is a common way of thinking and coming up with creative, although not always good, solutions to problems, and the love of our animal friends.

When I created Sampson, I had no plans on creating a series villain. I did plan on creating a villain, I just expected him to be there only for the story of “DWW on the Witches Council?” in Mortal Realm Witch: Learning About Magic, in which he was only supposed to come across as an ambitious teenage boy with the dream of taking over the two Realms. This was as much of his personality that I felt needed to be know about. Although he was supposed to be a one time character, he was so much fun to write about that he became on of my main characters and because of this, starting with Book Two, I really began to develop his personality. By the time I was done, Sampson was a true villain and would pose a challenge to every one of my three main series witches; DWW, Turtle, and Asantra. Sampson is mostly DWW’s opposite in almost every way except for his creativity and an ambition that basically begins with the same idea. The part of Sampson’s personality that is based off myself is his unwillingness to change his mind once he has decided on something, his sense of humor, his creativity, and his occasional failure to see the long term effects of some of his actions.

Asantra is possibly the strongest reflection of myself when it comes to the various characters I have created. Getting her start in Book Four, Mortal Realm Witch: The Adventures of DWW2, Asantra is perhaps the most complicated character I have created to date. Much of her personality is an extremely exaggerated version of my own although there are several differences as well. Asantra really just likes to have fun, almost always keeps an odd, but usually good sense of humor, she loves go on adventures, and she loves to spend time with her wolf pack. One of the biggest differences, between myself and Asantra, is that Asantra almost always acts on what she is thinking regardless of the consequences. I often think of doing things, but never actually get that far. She also finds herself often playing the roles of both hero and villain, sometimes within the course of only a few hours! She switches fast and often and it is very unclear to outsiders where her loyalties lie.

About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

