Which Did it Best-Veterinary Book Series

I have always read books about animals. There was a time when I thought I wanted to be a vet. Due to this I read many book series related to this subject so I thought I would compare eight of these series. For this post I judged each series by it’s storyline, how realistically it portrayed the veterinary world, and how well I remembered the animal facts presented.

The Books

Animal Ark: Each book in this series that was released in the U.S. was written under the name of Ben M. Baglio. However the books were originally written under the author’s real name of Lucy Daniels and many of the books were not released under her pseudonym. I always found the books in this series to contain enjoyable stories and facts. Throughout my many years of reading the books I know I learned many animal facts and the series fairly realistically portrays life as a country vet.

Animal Inn: Each book in this series was written by Virginia Vail. The books are similar to the Animal Ark series though it didn’t always focus as much on the veterinary world as Animal Ark.

Animal Emergency: Each book in this series was written by Emily Costello. I definitely felt that much of the veterinary world was realistically captured and the stories have all been very enjoyable.

Vet Volunteers (Wild at Heart): These books have two different series names. Vet Volunteers is the one the eBooks are listed under but you can find them in print under both names. Each book in this series was written by Laurie Halse Anderson. This series is very realistic the stories are very enjoyable. The animal facts are also very interesting.

Pet Vet: These books were written by Darrel & Sally Odgers. It’s realistic enough but having been written for a very young reading level, doesn’t focus much on the veterinary side or have a lot of animal facts.

Animal Ark Hauntings: (See Animal Ark) Really no different from Animal Ark except all the animals are ghosts being ghosts means they don’t need veterinary treatment so while I love the stories it’s not as full of facts as the other series.

Animal Ark Pets: (See Animal Ark) These books were written for a younger level and while there are some good facts and the storylines are good, there aren’t really many vet related ones.

Little Animal Ark (See Animal Ark) As they were written for an even younger level than Animal Ark Pets these books really don’t contain any facts but are good stories.

Results (Storyline)

  1. Vet Volunteers
  2. Animal Emergency
  3. Animal Ark Hauntings
  4. Animal Ark
  5. Animal Inn
  6. Animal Ark Pets
  7. Little Animal Ark
  8. Pet Vet

Results (Realism)

  1. Vet Volunteers
  2. Animal Emergency
  3. Animal Ark
  4. Animal Inn
  5. Pet Vet
  6. Animal Ark Hauntings
  7. Animal Ark Pets
  8. Little Animal Ark

Results (Fact Retention and Interest)

Because the books are so close in this I was only able to put them into two groups, rather than rate each individually. Animal Ark, Animal Inn, Animal Emergency, and Vet Volunteers earned a place in group one and Pet Vet, Animal Ark Hauntings, Animal Ark Pets, and Little Animal Ark got group two. Group one is the winning group but I don’t feel any of the four books in this group really rise above the rest.

Results (Overall Winner)

The clear winner here is the Vet Volunteers series.

Now, one vet series I haven’t mentioned that I really like is The Imaginary Veterinary by Suzanne Selfors. The reason I didn’t mention it was because, while the books are really fun to read and based around a veterinary clinic, they focus on animals and creatures that don’t exist in the real world. I am mentioning it now because it is a fictional vet series and I love the imagination involved in it.

About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in Books, Pets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

