What My First Dog Taught Me

Learning about dog breeds from the wrong sources often leads to breed prejudices sometimes leading to judging the breed before knowing the dog…

My first dog was not at all what I expected him to be. When I thought about a dog back then the first breeds that came to my mind were Golden Retrievers and Labradors. The    dog I got was neither. Instead of a large, friendly big breed dog what I got was a cute and fluffy Toy Poodle puppy.

You might think that because he was not what I expected to get that I would be disappointed but I wasn’t. In fact when I first saw him I was excited because he was my new puppy and at the time that’s all that mattered. However, throughout the years, while I was proud of the fact that I had my dog, I usually kept his breeding a secret.

Typically when people think of Poodle’s they think of them being girly dogs that are always perfectly groomed, and often wear clothes to match their owners or have their nails painted, and things like this. They don’t really think of them as dogs at all. I was one of these people who once thought that what you see of poodles in TV and Movies or read about in many books, is exactly what a poodle was. Even after owning one and discovering that poodles were just like any other dog, I knew what other people would think if they knew I had one of these dogs so aside from my closest friends, no one knew I had a Toy Poodle.  

CeJaye was a senior by the time I finally began to really see the dog I had. I started taking him out more for walks, often just me and him. Sometimes a friend and I would take him places where we would see people we knew, which previously would have been a bad thing but at this point I was willing to admit to my dog’s breeding after finally figuring out that the dog he was-the dog I owned-was more important than what breed he was and this was something worth showing off. For being a bit overprotective at home he was remarkably good with people on walks.

So a few years later, when I met the Chihuahua, Taco, another breed of which I learned about more through the myths of the breed as presented in media, because of what I learned from CeJaye it was easy for me to look past his breed and get to know the dog he was. Then because I got to know him I found it easy to get attached to the wacky little dog, and when he needed a home I knew he had to be mine.

Most recently I was evaluating what kind of dog I am looking for. I thought about personality, fur type, size, and reasons I wanted a dog among other things and was a bit surprised at what I discovered. As it turns out my perfect dog is a Toy Poodle. I definitely didn’t see that one coming. So, it looks like when the time comes I will be spending a lot of time watching the local animal shelters for a Toy Poodle.

Note: The Chihuahua Taco is still around and is currently performing his duties as my biggest source of inspiration. He is also in the running to become the mascot of my company A & M Moonlight Creations.

You can learn more about CeJaye and Taco at www.jenniferpriester.com in the Meet the Anipals section. CeJaye

About animalsandmagic

I am an author, artist, and owner of A & M Moonlight Creations. I love animals and have adopted most of my pets from rescue centers. I have written over 200 stories in the areas of animals, the relationships between humans and animals, magic, superheroes, and more.
This entry was posted in Pets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

